LOUIS AND WILLIAM J. TEUCHERT PARK
(1846 WEST 259TH PLACE)

The City’s newest park Louis and William J. Teuchert Park was dedicated on April 25, 2017.  Teuchert Park was made possible by the generous donation of Louis Teuchert, a long-time Lomita resident and a park grant from the LA County Park and Open Space District. 

History of Teuchert Park

This all began in 2012 when Louis Teuchert contacted the City with an interest in donating this property to the City as part of his will.  His original vision was to have this land utilized for a park or museum.  Former Lomita Councilmember Jim Cole was instrumental in speaking with Louis at that time to ensure that his dream and wishes could become a reality.

Teuchert Park is also named in honor or Louis’ brother, Private First Class William Joseph Teuchert.  William lost his life during the Korean War on August 27, 1951.  This occurred during an almost 3 week battle where the Americans claimed a 2 mile by 3 mile area known as Bloody Ridge.  Our side sustained 2,700 casualties.  There were also an estimated 15,000 communist casualties.  We can never thank them enough for what they have given, but we hope that this park stands as a reminder of the sacrifice and service of men like the Teuchert brothers.

LOUIS AND WILLIAM J. TEUCHERT PARK